To grow: Teff

I’m interested in gluten-free for health reasons – but I’m similarly interested in local foods. My drive here is to make delicious gluten-free loaves with local ingredients. So when I see recipes like this (via veganricha) I sometimes question the inclusion of teff.

Tef / teff comes from Ethiopia – this paper talks about the price explosion that it underwent in the late 00s – and yet (I found out this morning) can be planted from sea level to up to 3000 meters.

Our plan is not for self-sustenance but for potential self-sustenance. Perhaps growing teff should be part of that, along with maize, buckwheat, rye, and oats?

Leave a Reply

